How to write a book about your life.

Scribe Secrets, Memoirs and a writing challenge.

It's 4:47 am, Sunday morning. My fan is blowing hot because summer be simmering and I'm writing this newsletter on a high.

I'm hyped up because of many things but one of them is that I just ended a meeting where a darling reader gave me such warm feedback about these newsletters. In her words,

"Ugonne, there's so much value in your newsletters, I believe you should look at it reaching more women and mums"

Do you think so? Should we be looking at reaching more women and moms? Hit the reply button or leave a comment for me. I'd love to hear your thoughts.

I love hearing from you all because that means you're paying attention...And attention is quite costly in 2024. So thank you for reading, rereading, sharing, and commenting on what you've read. You are such a gift!

It was in August 2020 that the burden of my first book, the Birthing, hit me like never before. It was loud and intense. I knew I heard God when I received the instruction at the beginning of the year but I had been so busy with many other things. Things that were great but not what heaven was focusing on.

As I thought about my desires and the next steps, my mind quickly remembered a book-writing coach and her Facebook group that I joined some time ago.

I grabbed my phone and scrolled through the posts in the group, I noticed a congratulatory post the coach made to some new authors and I stopped to check it. And that was when I saw the picture. The picture of my first book.

 “That's my book! Ha! That's my book!"

 My eyes almost fell out of their sockets from the shock. I saw my first book idea sitting pretty right there. Same title, same concept, same book cover. The only difference was that my name wasn't on the book. I was dumbfounded.

The irony was that the author was another light-skinned Igbo girl like me. I wanted to cry but I immediately caught what the Holy Spirit was showing me.

Lessons from my encounter

L E S S O N 1 - Hearing God is a 21st-century skill that should never be taken for granted. 

L E S S O N 2 - You are not the only vessel available for the work. 

L E S S O N 3 - Obedience is better than sacrifice and it is the love language of the kingdom.

 That encounter was all the fire I needed to do what I had to do. I knew that If I didn't take immediate action with the burden in my heart, I would miss out on the plan of God for my life. I quickly paid a book-writing coach and started my writing journey to my first book, The Birthing.

That journey has been one of the MOST TRANSFORMATIONAL EXPERIENCES OF MY ADULT LIFE! The Growth. The Shifts. The Evolution. The Faith Walks. The Connections. Ahhh! It’s indescribable.

  • That journey connected me to my mentors and teachers like our pro coach, GDDK who wrote the Foreword for my first book.

  • That journey deepened my walk with God and placed me on the visionary path. 

  • That journey birthed two more books that I released last year

  • That journey got me featured on reputable writing and speaking platforms.

  • That journey named me one of the most inspiring authors in Nigeria in 2023.

  • That journey is the reason I am in the elite cohort of the finest visionaries in Africa. (VCAP)

  • That journey has connected me to the most amazing humans as friends, partners, collaborators, subscribers, destiny sisters, encouragers, readers, etc.

All this transformation because I wrote a book about a portion of my life. And I’m not that special. Anyone can write about their journey. They just need to know how so let me share 3 valuable tips on how to write a transformational book about your life.

How to Write Your Memoir

  1. JOURNAL - Go back to your journals and take a critical look at your life experiences. Dig up your 2015 - 2020 journals and leverage the gift of hindsight. Connect the dots. What do you see? What is the story your journey is telling? Then layer the breath and inspiration of the Almighty on it... Ah!! A blockbuster is about to be born!

  2.  CLARITY - Clarify the central theme/message that the life experiences you want to share are centered around. Is it grief? Waiting seasons? Survival? Wealth? Leadership? Friendship? Personal Growth? Healing and emotional wholeness? Knowing this will help you tell your story in a way that truly impacts your readers.

  3. ACTION - Start with the action/drama/an interesting story. The Introduction/the first chapter of your book is an important part because it sets expectations so start with a bang.

A few examples of a great introduction to a book.

  •  "𝘖𝘯 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘧𝘪𝘯𝘢𝘭 𝘥𝘢𝘺 𝘰𝘧 𝘮𝘺 𝘴𝘰𝘱𝘩𝘰𝘮𝘰𝘳𝘦 𝘺𝘦𝘢𝘳 𝘰𝘧 𝘩𝘪𝘨𝘩 𝘴𝘤𝘩𝘰𝘰𝘭, 𝘐 𝘸𝘢𝘴 𝘩𝘪𝘵 𝘪𝘯 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘧𝘢𝘤𝘦 𝘸𝘪𝘵𝘩 𝘢 𝘣𝘢𝘴𝘦𝘣𝘢𝘭𝘭 𝘣𝘢𝘵" - Atomic Habit by James Clear.

  • "𝘔𝘰𝘳𝘦 𝘣𝘭𝘰𝘰𝘥! 𝘚𝘵𝘢𝘵!". 𝘛𝘩𝘦 𝘴𝘪𝘭𝘦𝘯𝘤𝘦 𝘰𝘧 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘖𝘙 𝘸𝘢𝘴 𝘴𝘮𝘢𝘴𝘩𝘦𝘥 𝘣𝘺 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘢𝘮𝘢𝘻𝘪𝘯𝘨𝘭𝘺 𝘲𝘶𝘪𝘦𝘵 𝘤𝘰𝘮𝘮𝘢𝘯𝘥. 𝘛𝘩𝘦 𝘵𝘸𝘪𝘯𝘴 𝘩𝘢𝘥 𝘳𝘦𝘤𝘦𝘪𝘷𝘦𝘥 50 𝘶𝘯𝘪𝘵𝘴 𝘰𝘧 𝘣𝘭𝘰𝘰𝘥, 𝘣𝘶𝘵 𝘵𝘩𝘦𝘪𝘳 𝘣𝘭𝘦𝘦𝘥𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘴𝘵𝘪𝘭𝘭 𝘩𝘢𝘥𝘯'𝘵 𝘴𝘵𝘰𝘱𝘱𝘦𝘥!" - Gifted Hands by Ben Carson.

  • “𝘎𝘰𝘥 𝘣𝘦 𝘸𝘪𝘵𝘩 𝘺𝘰𝘶 𝘣𝘢𝘣𝘦”. "𝘎𝘰𝘥 𝘣𝘦 𝘸𝘪𝘵𝘩....."

    𝘐 𝘩𝘦𝘢𝘳𝘥 𝘮𝘺 𝘷𝘰𝘪𝘤𝘦 𝘧𝘢𝘥𝘦 𝘰𝘶𝘵 𝘢𝘴 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘥𝘰𝘰𝘳𝘴 𝘴𝘩𝘶𝘵 𝘣𝘦𝘩𝘪𝘯𝘥 𝘮𝘺 𝘩𝘶𝘴𝘣𝘢𝘯𝘥. 𝘐 𝘴𝘢𝘵 𝘵𝘩𝘦𝘳𝘦 𝘰𝘯 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘵𝘰𝘪𝘭𝘦𝘵 𝘴𝘦𝘢𝘵 𝘴𝘵𝘢𝘳𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘢𝘵 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘴𝘵𝘪𝘤𝘬 𝘸𝘪𝘵𝘩 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘵𝘸𝘰 𝘳𝘦𝘥 𝘭𝘪𝘯𝘦𝘴. 𝘐𝘵 𝘸𝘢𝘴 𝘚𝘢𝘵𝘶𝘳𝘥𝘢𝘺, 𝘋𝘦𝘤𝘦𝘮𝘣𝘦𝘳 1𝘴𝘵 2018” - The Birthing by Ugonne Ann

Do you see the action? the suspense? As you write, keep these tips at the back of your mind and you’re well on your way to writing a bestselling memoir. If you want to get ahead in your journey into authorship, I am happy to announce that SCRIBE SECRETS IS LIVE! (SEE POSTER ABOVE)

Scribe Secrets is a free 14 -Day Challenge for writers, authors and scribes who want to partner with God to write.

I'll be teaching you my 3-STEP FRAMEWORK FOR CONCEIVING AND BIRTHING YOUR BEST-SELLING BOOK and diving deeper into the world of writing, self-publishing, and partnering with God to write your book. It's going to be power-packed.

Click on the button below to register and feel free to share with your friends, colleagues, and community members who you know may need this. They’ll love and thank you forever.

A SNEAK PEEK INTO MY MIND

💃❤𝙒𝙝𝙖𝙩 𝙄'𝙢 𝙨𝙪𝙥𝙚𝙧 𝙚𝙭𝙘𝙞𝙩𝙚𝙙 𝙖𝙗𝙤𝙪𝙩

BEWA Writers Festival, 2024 - My sister friend and coach, My publisher, and an industry leader… all in one place? Ah aah!! What I’m doing with my life! You won’t find me anywhere else today. Are you READY to learn at the biggest convergence of writers, authors, and digital content creators? Then, Tap in. Get your official invite code by texting "BEWA FEST 2024" to 0905 626 1695 on WhatsApp. You will get notified once it’s LIVE.

🎤🎼 𝙒𝙝𝙖𝙩 𝙄'𝙢 𝙡𝙞𝙨𝙩𝙚𝙣𝙞𝙣𝙜 𝙩𝙤

Agbara Olorun po. There’s something about this song. It’s powerfully beautiful. Interestingly, the song was originally composed and sung by Mama Bola Are, Yetunde Are, who was featured in the song The Matriarch’s Biological Daughter! I love it so much! Generational blessings! Generational mantles!

📺📺 𝙒𝙝𝙖𝙩 𝙄'𝙢 𝙬𝙖𝙩𝙘𝙝𝙞𝙣𝙜

Young Sheldon - Haha!! I’m using this one to relax when my head is hot from visionary work. I’m enjoying the series and wondering why I never watched it all these years. I

Quote of the week

"If you want to be a writer, you must do two things above all others: read a lot and write a lot."

Stephen King

Are you loving these Newsletters? Forward it to someone you know with just one click. Let them also enjoy these godly insights, and deep nuggets → Subscribe to my newsletter

Struggling to conceive, write, and launch your first book? This FREE EBOOK has the proven blueprint and the answers you need → Get your copy of ‘Birthing Your First Book’

Learn how to partner with God for your children, vision, and Nation→ Get your copy of ‘The Birthing’

Reply

or to participate.